Ropes I Know

August 8, 2008

Dead Mice – What Cats Do At Night

During the warmer months of this and last year (since I abandoned my rented apartment in the city in exchange for my own house in a rather smallish village …), my two cats (Simba and Karlo) typically were and are out of office every night. In the morning, just about a few milliseconds after I have filled their feeding dishes, they come flying through the open kitchen window, arriving for breakfast and then sleeping most of the day out of sheer sloth to recover from the hardship of their outdoor jobs. During the nights, they occasionally waltz in to report on how their business is going.

This means that, during the course of an average summer night, I have to dispose of several (mostly/almost) dead mice; shrews, field-mice and what-not (where does one dispose of dead mice, or what remains of them, respectively?).

“Several” as in: “about 4 to 10”.

A shrew, the most dangerous animal on earth ... (License GFDL & SA2.0)

Sometimes I cannot recognize what kind of animal has been mutilated to leave such ugly residue on my floor, in front of my entry door, in my gateway, in my bed and most probably (rotting undiscovered and being further shreddered during lawn-mowing) on my lawn, but I’ve got the notion that they do not kill animals bigger than – say – a Chihuahua.

Yuck … on more than one occasion I woke up in the morning with a dead mouse in my mouth beside me. Sometimes it’s just the part below the waistline – they seem to employ a top-down approach when eating them; starting with the head.

I’m observing that the eyes of an average artificial mouse cat-toy are much more firmly attached to the head than those of the real thing …

Each and every night between April and September/October, peaking around July/August with no less than 8 rodent victims per night. Doing a rough calculation in my head, I arrived at an impressing 1200+ mice killed each year by my lovely pussycats (which in their first two or three years have never had the opportunity to go hunting outside, instead they feasted on spiders, flies and the like).

I guess that’s no reason to be afraid of mouse-extinction. But I wonder how do they know that mice are the proverbial “it” for cats?

Tonight I took a picture of the battlefield they left behind in my bedroom, but I’m afraid that if I publish them here, I’ll get X-rated at the least.

Those of you who do want to take a look at how this looks like, might want to surf over to What Jeff Killed! 🙂

… Ah – here comes Simba, just bringing another “present”, I wonder why they don’t eat them outsides? Oh, I see, it’s raining. A wet cat with another wet, half-dead mouse. Uglier things have been spotted […], but not by reliable witnesses.

Have a Good Night!

2 Comments »

  1. I cohabitate with two cats. There seems to be no way of stopping them. I suspect someone in the house is feeding them.

    They have yet to master doorknobs, and therefore have yet to gift me with anything raw or wrigglin’.

    However, a friend once had a cat that had been separated from his mum too young. He knew how to catch things, but left the killing to her.

    He also couldn’t groom himself, which meant that my friend had to pull the slugs and other riders from his fur.

    In such manner she came to loathe garter snakes, frogs, salamanders, and many other beasts of field and woodland. As well as, eventually, cats.

    She once said that it would have been okay did he not drop whatever tasty morsel he brought into the tub while she was showering. Her husband became adept at arising with wrathful broom in hand almost before the despairing wail was out of her mouth.

    Comment by Metro — August 12, 2008 @ 20:59

  2. They have yet to master doorknobs, and therefore have yet to gift me with anything raw or wrigglin’.

    Over here in Europe (Germany) we generally don’t have (round) doorknops, but handles. These are mastered quite expertly by them (if they go easy enough to be operated by their weight …).
    Opening cabinet doors is a sight to behold! I hope I can one day make a video of them opening my cabinets. They put a paw to the handle, standing on their hind legs and then take a few steps backwards – et voilĂ  – open is the door.

    Comment by Yeti — September 3, 2008 @ 9:55


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

